A Watchword for 2015

Holzkreuz im MeerwasserAs many head back to work or school this week following the Christmas and New Year holidays, here are some excellent words from C.F.W. Walther, the first president of The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod.  Here we have more than just another new year’s resolution which will end up on the trash heap with all the others.  Instead we have, as Walther says, a “watchword” which permeates all that we will encounter in the coming year: “I am baptized!”  This will certainly be my “watchword.”

Now then, all of you who believe in God’s Word, let your watchword for entering the new year be this: “I am baptized!” Although the world may laugh at this comfort, the enthusiasts vex its confidence … nevertheless, abandon any other dearly held pledges and speak only throughout the entire year to come, in all terrors of conscience and necessity through sin and death: “I am baptized! I am baptized! Hallelujah!” And you shall prevail! In every time of need, you will find comfort in your Baptism; on account of it Satan will flee from your faith and confession; and in death you will see heaven opened and will finally come into the joy of your Lord to celebrate a great year of jubilee, a year of praise, with all the angels forever and ever. Amen!

…and a hymn to go with it: “God’s Own Child I Gladly Say It” (LSB 594:1, 2)…

Stanza 1

God’s own child, I gladly say it: I am baptized into Christ!

He, because I could not pay it, gave my full redemption price.

Do I need earth’s treasures many?  I have one worth more than any

That brought me salvation free, Lasting to eternity!

Stanza 2

Sin, disturb my soul no longer: I am baptized into Christ!

I have comfort even stronger: Jesus’ cleansing sacrifice.

Should a guilty conscience seize me, since my baptism did release me

In a dear forgiving flood, sprinkling me with Jesus’ blood?

About Past-or Present

My name is Greg Michel. I am a baptized, redeemed child of God, the blessed husband of my beloved bride, and the proud father of one son and one daughter. I am also the pastor of St. Matthew Lutheran Church in Milan, Illinois, a congregation of The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod. My blog is simply some present thoughts that either I have or I run across, specifically in my life and calling as a Lutheran pastor.
This entry was posted in Baptism, New Year. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Watchword for 2015

  1. Arvin Michel says:

    I can think of no better way to start the new year than by remembering my baptism and the promise of salvation through our Savior, Jesus Christ. Thank you for the message

Leave a comment